Tyranny of the Majority

I’d heard this term long back when I saw the movie The Great Debaters. Today, almost every culture, across the world, is experiencing a revolution, a revolution started by people who no longer want to be the ‘sacrifice necessary for the survival of the group’. Today, many of us have started recognizing our rights, and the fact that our, or the existence of one individual, or a minority, is not available to be glossed over, for any reason whatsoever.

This particular line of thought seems to have come into light after centuries of lives brutally subdued. Be it a single woman who is asked to sacrifice her needs for the good of the family, be it the colonised people who were run over so the colonisers could flourish, be it a person with talent feeling lost for the want of an oppurtunity, be it a racial ethnicity scorned for its mere presence, or be it any person who dares to raise a voice in this muddle of the majority.

They say why should the majority suffer for the minority? I ask why should anyone suffer for anyone? They say majority is always right. Is it? Look at history and you will see scores of examples: traditions, laws, rules, customs, upheld by the majority were cast away when a few dared to speak up and tried to reason. If the majority is always right, then the poor and the hungry would be law makers. Do you now see the deception packed up in what the majority signifies? Even when they majority rules, the rules are not made by them. Its just a mantra, to keep the society in check, and to fool them.

Of course, a minority, or an individual, can’t always be right. The what do we do? Ignore everything that’s not widely accepted, or welcome everything that is brought up. There can be no extremes here. What we can do, is listen, with some degree of reason. And then think. If minorities were so wrong, history might never have been written, and we may not have been alive today.

As far away from each other as they seem, tolerance,individual rights and adjustment, are all facets to the same solution. A solution to be rid of this tyranny of the majority. Just because someone is bigger or more in number, does not make them right.

“If it were true that men could achieve their good by means of turning some men into sacrificial animals, and I were asked to immolate myself for the sake of creatures who wanted to survive at the price of my blood, if I were asked to serve the interests of society apart from, above and against my own—I would refuse, I would reject it as the most contemptible evil, I would fight it with every power I possess, I would fight the whole of mankind, if one minute were all I could last before I were murdered, I would fight in the full confidence of the justice of my battle and of a living being’s right to exist. Let there be no misunderstanding about me. If it is now the belief of my fellow men, who call themselves the public, that their good requires victims, then I say: The public good be damned, I will have no part of it!”

Atlas Shrugged

https://adya00.wordpress.com/2013/11/21/tyranny-of-the-majority/© Copyright 2013, Adya Vac

