Expressions and Attires

Have you ever looked at someone’s photograph, someone you know very well, and thought ‘this so does not seem like her/him!!!’. Of course it also happens when people you know suddenly act weird, or dress up ‘do I know you’ style.(try to think of actors in weirdly different roles as examples)

“I have never been aware before how many faces there are.  There are quantities of human beings, but there are many more faces, for each person has several.” 
-Rainer Maria Rilke, Notebooks of Malte Laurids Brigge

So here I was, going through facebook, for about the tenth time in the day 😛 And I came across this picture, I won’t go into the details, but: it was a stunning picture. When I say that I mean not only the picture quality, lighting, and colors, instead what really caught my eye was the pose and expression. The person wasn’t modelling, it was a simple picture, as plain as they can get, in a sepia tone. But once again, the expression, and pose, they made the person look so different that I had to check who it was and what were they doing in my friend list. Once I had identified the person, I went through more of their profile pictures, and they were very very different. The picture was so unique that if someone had given me the  current pic and another older one, I’d have said they are two different people.

But that’s the point right? We all are different people, in different moments.

Its so easy to say we know who someone is, be it the best friend, the lover, the sibling, the parent, or the spouse. Give us a few years and we feel we can classify a person. Good or bad or sweet or nice or eccentric or naive or cunning or ambitious or egoistic and so on and so forth, not just based on our opinion of their personalities, but their dressing or fashion sense. (Recall that time when you saw a complete stranger dressed in a xyz manner and immediately handed out a memo of classification) This list is endless, and infinitely stereotypical.  Or forget that, give ourselves some time and we think we can classify  ourselves! That I think is the bigger joke, and irony.

“God has given you one face, and you make yourself another.  “
~William Shakespeare

If you don’t believe me, try this. Take five different people, who all have you in common, but have no interaction with each other. Tell them to write down some things about you. Absolutely anything. No censors. And you’ll be surprised that even though there are common things, everyone will have a few things even you didn’t know about yourself.

That’s the beauty of expressions, poses and attires. Have random pictures of you clicked during a day. In different attires doing different everyday things. Or go bold and get out of your comfort zone and have pictures taken of you doing things or posing in ways you never thought you would. Ask random strangers to look at them. One picture each. And then watch the magic as you are transformed into people you never knew!

“I had no idea of the character. But the moment I was dressed, the clothes and the make-up made me feel the person he was. I began to know him, and by the time I walked onto the stage he was fully born.”
-Charlie Chaplin

The point being? We always want morals and purposes of any story don’t we? Sadly enough I have one for this 🙂 And it all lies in a single word: Possibilities. If a picture can speak a thousand words, then it can spell out a thousand words about the numerous, enigmatic, crazy and fantastic person(s) you can be.

So next time you think you wanna be something, I say get into the attire, get into the mood, the setting, and have a photograph taken. Always keep it with you as you work towards your goal, as a proof of what and who you can be.

i

https://adya00.wordpress.com/2013/09/24/expressions/© Copyright 2013, Adya Vac

